Summer Reading

This time of year always makes me think of “beach reading”…whether or not I have the opportunity to get anywhere near a beach. But just the thoughts of sitting back and catching up and reading…for the pleasure of reading, and not to meet a deadline for a review, is such a treat.

As usual, there are quite a few books on my reading stack. I plan to add short notes about the ones that I hope you might be interested in too. My usual suspects – I enjoy theology and church history, spiritual formation, books on the arts and culture, and dissecting my way through a good cookbook (usually means lots of experimentation!).

I have just returned from June travels in New York City, Chicago, Indiana and Michigan’s Upper Peninsula – phew! On my return to Stamps today, I found a new book waiting for me in my inbox which I’m excited to begin – Gregory Wolfe’s Beauty Will Save the World: Recovering the Human in an Ideological Age. ISI Books, 2011. You may be familiar with Wolfe’s writing already – he is the long time publisher and editor of the journal Image: A Journal of the Arts and Religion and the Stamps Library has 15 other books he has written or edited (um, did I mention I’m a fan?). I try not to mention books here that we don’t yet have in our collection – but the imprint date on this is June 15th…so it’s nearly right off the presses and we will be adding the book soon. I’ll keep you posted…

While on the road I participated in the American Theological Library Association’s Annual Conference (the Chicago part of the trip) and in addition to meeting with colleagues from throughout the world, I met with a variety of book vendors to see what is new this summer and coming out in the fall. Lots of great ideas of new books to add to our collections in the new fiscal year (sometime after July). I also purchased a number of books which I had to send home separately …the perils of the book profession!

One of the places I had the opportunity to visit on this trip was Mackinac Island and the famous Grand Hotel. I’m including a photo…so you can see one beautiful spot that I found to read in for a little while…(yes, it’s as spectacular as it looks!). Hope you find a good place to catch up on a good book or two. Need inspiration? I’ve been busy compiling book lists so check the recent posts to this blog!

This entry was posted in Library Updates!, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

