A Season of Gratitude

I love Thanksgiving – it is one of my favorite holidays in the year. I love the opportunity to spend time with family and good friends, being creative in the kitchen, and especially, in the many reminders for thankfulness.

I have pictured at left a Quaker thanksgiving sampler I have just completed – Quaker samplers are known for the medallions that appear as part of the stitched design. The design is from a company called Bent Creek. If you are interested in learning more about the Quaker sampler style, there are many images available on the web (but not a lot of written information). This sampler has 32 count linen (32 stitches to the inch) but I have mostly stitched it over two threads (so, 18 stitches to the inch – still fairly small).

As you prepare to celebrate this special day, I thought I would share a few Thanksgiving thoughts…have a blessed and happy Thanksgiving weekend!

“You say grace before meals.
All right.
But I say grace before the play and the opera,
And grace before the concert and pantomime,
And grace before I open a book,
And grace before sketching, painting,
Swimming, fencing, boxing, walking, playing, dancing;
And grace before I dip the pen in ink.”
G.K. Chesterton (from an early notebook, mid-1890s,
and reprinted in Real Simple, November 2011).

“God has two dwellings; one in heaven, and the other in a meek and thankful heart.”
Izaak Walton

“Thou that has given so much to me,
Give one thing more — a grateful heart;
Not thankful when it pleases me,
As if Thy blessings had spare days;
But such a heart, whose pulse may be
Thy praise.”
George Herbert

This entry was posted in Art/Architecture, Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Season of Gratitude

  1. Shelley Long says:

    Love the prayers!

Leave a Reply

